UndyedYarnpire’s Fiber Opera

September 9, 2009

chock full of news and updates.

Filed under: discussion, stuff, summary — UndyedYarnpire @ 4:55 pm

For once, I have lots to say.

In reverse order, I went to a new LYS. It.. um.. does not suit me.  The people working there were pleasant and they had a nice range of yarns. But everything was very jumbled and crammed— and yet! they did not have enough range in the particular items that caught my eye. I would have bought 5 skeins of Cascade 220 if they had them in the same painted colorway, but when I asked if I could order more, I was told I must speak to the owner. I did not do a double-take about that, but I wanted to.  A lot of stuff was hidden away behind other things, so someone else had to dig through and hand me things one by one. Really nice people since they were willing to do that, a complete contrast with the store here in Oakland— the one everyone else loves. But even this new store,  for all the disarray and apparently random organization, they have MSRP+ prices.

I do not mean to constantly disparage LYSs, but it obviously is not something that is well suited to an urban environment, though this one is in an obscure suburb and has parking.

I successfully cast on for the sleeve to my Leuca sweater. (That is not the pattern name. I am using the generic wireframe “Round Yoke” from Priscilla Gibson-Roberts’s Knitting In the Old Way. And like BrooklynTweed, I heartily endorse this book.) I have decided to go with a provisional cast-on, and ( finally understand the whole crochet chain business because there was a really useful explanation and diagram in Wendy Johnson’s Socks From the Toe Up book. I bought Wendy’s book even though there was nothing really novel in it, I found the collection of techniques I always have to look up online to be extremely coherent and usefully organized, which made it worth the sale price.  Plus I liked several of the patterns even if they are vaguely derivative.)  started at just above the elbow. Elbow-length sleeves are sort of the minimum length I can tolerate and this allows me to conserve yarn until after the body is completed. There might be color transition issues, but sometimes you just have to make a choice.

I have been working on my Serpentine Socks (from the Wendy Johnson book), but progress is slow because I do not seem to work on them often enough.

There has been no change in the spinning department. I did not order the musk ox from RH Lindsey.

I now have a crockpot for dyeing. Cost to me, $free. I found it in a closet. I plan to do some Koolaid dyeing in it this weekend. (Starting with food-safe things in case I change my mind about the repurposing.)

Not quite fiber related, but I am in search of new glasses. I can no longer knit with my glasses on, and cannot watch the TV with them off. I might splurge and go somewhere with interesting glasses options, because I got treated badly at the two big  chain places recently.

I am considering buying a fancy new phone. I would like it if it could display knitting charts. Any recommendations for apps or phones?

I am planning to go to the Dixon Lambtown October 3, but not for classes. If you wanted to meet up. Send an email or leave a comment.

ps. I do not have pictures of the August fiber club shipment. I might take pictures tomorrow.

4 Comments

  1. I’ve heard really good things about the techniques in that socks book … might even be enough to get me to buy a sock book. Maybe.

    I adore my iPhone, and I paid something like $6 for the Air Sharing app that lets me copy files to and from my phone. I went with that one because it was the only thing I could find that could gracefully handle PDF files. Since most patterns I have are PDFs, it means I can have patterns for everything I’m working on, without worrying about losing or crumpling them. Sure makes it harder to take notes in the margins, though!

    Comment by arlette — September 10, 2009 @ 2:53 pm

    • I worried about buying a book that only has things that are available (mostly for free online) elsewhere. Turkish pocket cast-on, Judy’s Magic cast-on, provisional cast-on from crochet chain, and all that kind of stuff. Most of the stitch motifs are pretty easy or common. The main construction method given is a modified short-row heel. (Other heels are given, but one must refer to the additional information.)

      These are all things that are easily available. Really. But it is extremely nice to have them all printed out and collected in one place that is not subject to someone else’s whims.

      When I bought the book, I got free shipping, the sale price, a discount, and I had a gift certificate. Sure I could have used the gift certificate on something else, but my out-of-pocket costs were $0. It is definitely worth that. I do not think it would be worth buying at full retail though.

      What I love about the book is that each pattern is a complete recipe. There are alternatives given and one might choose to page back and forth, but everything you must have is right there. The Cat Bordhi book had much much more information that was not available anywhere, but when I counted and needed to use 64 pages out of 120ish, I decided I would never use the book’s patterns. It was like reading a Choose Your Own Adventure, including the part where you turn to the correct page and it says you fail and die.

      There is one single thing that keeps me from just buying the iPhone, AT&T. The Palm Pre phones look nice but Sprint supposedly does nefarious things like eavesdropping. What entices me about the iPhone is the app where you shake it and it tells you where to eat. Probably costs $14.95 and has a $9.99 monthly fee, but when I saw that on the commercial, I wanted it.

      I want a phone that can display knitting patterns because I can only print on days starting in S in the third week of the month if I have cooked pot roast and cleaned my windows.

      Comment by UndyedYarnpire — September 10, 2009 @ 4:56 pm

      • Do More Research. :P All of the GPS-enabled phones “eavesdrop” on your location.

        To my knowledge, none of the US carriers eavesdrops on your voice calls–unless, of course, you use Google Voice to transcribe voicemails to text, or unless Homeland Security or some random schmuck has decided to keep an eye on you. But neither of those use-cases is carrier-specific.

        Comment by skg — September 10, 2009 @ 8:36 pm

        • When I understood it was tracking locations, that was OK.

          It is not mere semantics. I heard “eavesdropping” and thought they were actively monitoring and storing voice calls or tracking login information for any sites one used via the device. That would obviously be a deal-breaker and no company would admit to it.

          I assume they all do that kind of thing, but I am willing to settle for the polite fiction for the convenience of having a mobile phone that can actually do something more than make calls.

          Comment by UndyedYarnpire — September 10, 2009 @ 8:59 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Blog at WordPress.com.